The Club Tennis Llafranc hosted the winner’s group competition of the Centenary Tennis Clubs Association during the weekend of September 18-20, 2015.

The competition saw the four area group winners – TC Parioli from Rome, TC Padova, Villa Primrose from Bordeaux and RCTB 1899 from Barcelona – come together to battle for the title of winner’s group CTC champion. The event for CTC member clubs, each of which has more than a hundred years of tradition, includes senior players aged 35+ and 45+ in both men’s and ladies categories respectively.

in the semifinals, defending champions TC Parioli scored a good win over the RCTB 1899, losing just a men’s 35+ singles match. Villa Primrose showed great superiority over TC Padova in the 35+ category for men and ladies, achieving an overall win of 6-3 and reaching the finals despite having one less player in the 45+ category.

Sunday’s final between TC Parioli and Villa Primrose started with some outstanding singles on the 35+ category where Xavier Pujo scored an impressive win over Michele Bassi (Italian 1994 C3 and C4 champion) and Laurent Gabail repeated the feat over Gabriele Cierco. The men’s 45+ matches saw TC Parioli level things up as former ATP #523 Ugo Biaganti scored a win over Jean Louis Vicard before the concession of the second men 45+ singles by Villa Primrose due to an injury led the tie to the doubles.

At 3-all in points the overall competition was decided in the closest possible way; a mixed doubles tie break, where eventually Ugo Biaganti & Daniela Cigna (former WTA #590) got the win over Xavier Pujo & Benedicte Le Brozec to retain the title for TC Parioli, with an eventual final score of 5 matches to 4.

TC Padova beat RCT Barcelona-1899 6-3 in the third place play-off match.

The social side of the competition included also an official dinner at the Club where the teams expressed their gratitude to the CT Llafranc and to the CTC President Juan Mª Tintore.