Under the auspices of the then President of the IOC, Mr. Juan A. Samaranch established the IOC President Cup in 1997, a team competition reserved to the eight founding clubs.

The first edition was played from 17 to 19 of May, 1997 at the LTTC Rot Weiss Berlin, and the winner was the host team, who defeated the Kungliga LTK in the final 5 to 4.

From June 12 to 14 in 1998, the second edition of the competition was held in the Royal Leopold Club of Brussels, and once again the final victory went to the German team of the LTTC Rot Weiss Berlin, who defeated the local team of the Royal Leopold Club with a victory of 6 to 3.Coinciding with the centenary celebrations of the Real Club de Tenis Barcelona-1899, the Spanish team organized the third edition of the competition, which was played in Barcelona from September 24 to 26, 1999. The local team managed to defeat the champion of the past two editions with a final score of 7 to 2.

The Geneva Tennis Club, which is situated in the Parc des Eaux Vives of this beautiful Swiss city, organized the fourth edition of the IOC President Cup, which was played from 1 to 3 of September in the year 2000. The Swiss team won over the LTTC Rot Weiss Berlin by a margin of 5 to 1.

During the first part of September in 2001, it was the turn of the Racing Club of France to organize and host the competition at their magnificent installations in the Bois de Boulogne, La Croix Catelan. The Swiss team of the Geneva Tennis Club were victorious once again, on this occasion defeating the Real Club de Tenis Barcelona-1899 6 to 3

The competition’s 6th edition was held between the 30th of August and the 1st of September 2002. It was organised by the Tennis Club Milano Alberto Bonacossa in its facilities located in this beautiful Italian city. Players of a very high level participated in the tournament, such as Emilio Sánchez Vicario, Christope Roger Vasselin, Gustavo Tiberti, Susana Savini-Vilaverde, etc. Like last yeard, the final was played by the Real Club de Tenis Barcelona-189 and the Tennis Club de Geneve. The final victory was for the Spanish club which won by 6 to 3.

The Cumberland L.T.C. of London played host to the 7th Edition of the IOC President Cup, which was held from 29th to 31st August 2003. After the three days of competition, the RCTB-1899, defeated the RotWeiss LTTC of Berlin in the final round 5-1. The Spanish club, in the previous rounds, had beaten the T.C. Milano Alberto Bonacossa (5-4) and the Cumberland L.T.C. (5-1). The German club had defeated the Kungliga L.T.K. (5-1) and the T.C. of Geneva (6-3). The Swiss club reached third position by defeating Cumberland (6-3) in the match for 3rd and 4th positions. In the consolation round, the Racing Club of France won 5th, the T.C. Milano Alberto Bonacossa 6th, the Kungliga L.T.K. 7th, and the Royal Leopol Club 8th.
The next edition of the President Cup is scheduled to be placed on the courts of the Kungliga L.T.K. of Stockholm, Sweden, in August 2004.

The eighth and final edition of the IOC President Cup, reserved for the eight founding clubs, was held August 27 to 29 2004 at the Kungliga L.T.K. of Stockholm (Sweden). T.C.Milano A.Bonacossa won this final edition, defeating the Racing Club of France by 5-4 in the final elimination. The 3rd place went to the RCTB-1899, who were victorious over the host club, the KLTK, with a score of 5-4.
The 5th place was won by the the T.C.of Geneva, and 6th went to the LTTC Rot-Weiss Berlin; the Cumberland LTC won 7th place, and the Royal Leopold Club 8th.


With a view to awarding the team with the best overall performance throughout the eight editions of the competition, a classification has been established under which each team receives points on the basis of their results in each edition of the competition.
The criterion for the awarding of points has been established as follows:

Champion – 10 points
Finalist – 8 points
3rd ranked – 6 points
4th ranked – 5 points
5th ranked – 4 points
6th ranked – 3 points
7th ranked – 2 points
8th ranked – 1 point

 In the event that any qualifying competition for the awarding of positions 3 and 4, 5 and 6, 7 and 8 were not played, the maximum number of points for this ranking would be awarded to both teams.

Final classification after the eight tournaments had been played :

1st Real Club de Tenis Barcelona-1899 62 points
2nd LTTC Rot Weiss Berlin 53 points
3rd Tenis Club de Genève 48 points
4th Racing Club de France 43 points
5th T.C.Milano A. Bonacossa 32 points
6th Kungliga Lawn Tennis Klubben 30 points
7th Royal Leopold Club 25 points
8th Cumberland Lawn Tennis Club 21 points