The third edition of the DGC Inter Club Tournament was played from March 4-6 at the Grass Courts of the DGC.

Eight teams took part in the competition, which was started to celebrate the invitation of the club to join the Centenary Tennis Clubs (CTC) Association. On this occasion, the host Club and defending champion since 2014 was joined by a B team from the same club, Calcutta South Club, Mayo Hall Sports Complex Allahabad, International Lawn Tennis Club of India A&B teams, Chelmsford Club and Vasant Vihar Club, all of whom were battling to win the Centenary Tennis Clubs Trophy.

The competition saw matches in both men’s and ladies’ categories Over 45 and Over 55, and was played on the club’s 26 enviable and immaculate grass courts, venue for the Nationals and the Asian Lawn Tennis Championships in the mid-fifties.

All participants respected the tennis dress code required by the Club including white collar t-shirt, white socks and white shoes without heavy grooves. An extremely attractive invitation to other Centenary Tennis Clubs around the globe was extended well in time, but sadly was not taken up on this occasion by the international teams. However, the absence of overseas clubs did not deter the organisers from going ahead with the tournament and the three-day event was a resounding success. The President of All India Tennis Association and current Vice President of the International Tennis Federation, Mr. Anil Khanna, congratulated the organizers for their support in the promotion of tennis. The Tournament will henceforth be a part of the yearly calendar of events of the sports activity of the DGC.

The International Lawn Tennis Club of India, was the eventual champion, lifting the Centenary Tennis Clubs Trophy. The final was well contested and in a cliff hanger contest they triumphed over the Delhi Gymkhana Club. The plate event was won by the South Club Kolkatta, winners of the inaugural tournament held in 2013.

The 2017 tournament for 2017 is planned for the month of February, and exact dates will be announced by October 2016.