CTC Committee of Management meets in Barcelona

The Centenary Tennis Clubs Association’s (CTC) Committee of Management met at the Real Club de Tenis Barcelona-1899 on the first day of main draw action at the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell-Conde de Godó Trophy 2024. Amongst the topics on the agenda was the possible acceptance of several new clubs to the organisation: South Cowichan Lawn Tennis Club (Canada) and Tennis Club Reims (France). The Committee positively evaluated the membership aspirations of each club, with a final decision due to be taken at the CTC Annual General Meeting later this year.

At the time the Committee revised the 2024 calendar the first CTC Senior event of the year in Singapore was taking place. Singapore Cricket Club, a new member in the Association, received the teams from Yokohama International Tennis Community and from the Ladies Recreational club (HKG) . Amongst the other tournaments due to take place are the prestigious CTC Winners’ Group in the category 35+/45+, which will held at TC Padova in Italy 13-15 September, where the winners of the four senior competition groups in 2023 will battle for the crown of overall champion. Defending champions, the host club will attempt to retain the title against I CLTK Prague (CZE), RCTB 1899 (ESP) and KLTK (SWE). Three other groups in this seniors category will be held in TC Venezia (ITA), Villa Primrose Bordeaux (FRA) and TC Lyon (FRA).

The competition calendar also includes two groups in the CTC Seniors 50+/60+ category, one in the grass of The Northern Lawn Tennis Club, Manchester (UK) and another one in RCTB 1899 (ESP).

The first event in the calendar will be held in Singapore Cricket Club (SIN), where the Yokohama International Tennis Community (JPN) and the Ladies Recreational Club (HKG) will participate.

The Competition Calendar also includes junior competitions for the Under 12 in Carrickmines ( IRL), Under 14 in RCTB 1899 (ESP) and Under 16 categories in RST La Magdalena (ESP).

The President of the Association, Mr. Jordi Cambra (RCTB-1899) hosted the meeting and was joined by CTC Vice President Mr. Petr Simunek (I CLTK Prague), Mr. Lars Mhyrman (Kung. LTK), Mr. Marc Gouzer (TC Geneve), Mr. Pedro Navedo (TC Geneve), Mr. Guido Schulz (Rot-Weiss Berlin), Mr. Donald Macloed (Cumberland LTC), Mr.Matteo Carli ( TC Padova), Mr. Guillaume Bouffard ( Villa Primrose), Mr.Tom Hamilton ( Fitzwilliam),Mr. Carlos Rodriguez (RCTB-1899), Mr. Josep Costa ( RCTB-1899), CTC Counsellor Mr. Marco Gilardelli and the general Secretary of the Association, Mrs. Berta Tintoré.

Founded in 1996 by eight European clubs, the CTC currently has 89 member clubs on four continents. The Association is an affiliated to Tennis Europe and recognised by the sport’s governing body, the International Tennis Federation (ITF).